Types d'entreprises

Services de création d'entreprise et de protection des biens personnels.

Soyez incorporé

Types d'entreprises

Structures d'entreprise non constituées en société

 

Sole Proprietorship

 

Une entreprise individuelle décrit tout type d'entreprise appartenant à un seul individu et fait partie des structures d'entreprise les plus élémentaires. L'entreprise individuelle peut être de n'importe quelle taille, du simple marché du coin au grand entrepôt. Leur simplicité inhérente en fait l'entreprise la plus facile à démarrer, mais cette simplicité de structure laisse également le propriétaire de l'entreprise individuelle vulnérable à la responsabilité directe. Même avec un nom distinct (comme c'est le cas avec un «DBA» ou «faisant affaire en tant que»), comme il n'y a pas de statut «d'entité juridique distincte» pour l'entreprise, le propriétaire est entièrement responsable de sa dette et de ses obligations fiscales, et cela signifie que tous ses actifs commerciaux et personnels seraient menacés en cas de responsabilité financière, fiscale ou juridique ou de litige qui aboutirait à une issue défavorable. Cette perte peut résulter d'une affaire ou d'un litige personnel.
Plus d'informations sur l'entreprise individuelle

 

Partenariat

 

Un partenariat décrit toute entreprise ou entreprise entreprenante dans laquelle plus d'un propriétaire est impliqué. Les associés d'une société de personnes peuvent être des particuliers, des sociétés ou des fiducies, et la propriété est partagée entre les associés; cela comprend tous les revenus ainsi que toutes les dettes et responsabilités. Alors qu'un partenariat peut faciliter le lancement d'une entreprise ou d'une entreprise parce que les actifs sont mis en commun dans l'intérêt de l'entreprise, les inconvénients d'un partenariat comportent de nombreux dangers cachés. Le principal de ces dangers est celui de la responsabilité directe et illimitée de tous les partenaires. Puisqu'ils sont les propriétaires directs de l'entreprise, les associés sont également directement responsables de toutes les dettes contractées, des pertes subies ou de tout passif fiscal ou financier découlant de l'exploitation de la société de personnes. En outre, les partenaires font face à des risques, même de leur propre chef, avec la capacité de l'un des partenaires d'engager l'entreprise dans des obligations financières qui peuvent ne pas être avantageuses pour l'entreprise, ou qui entraînent une responsabilité financière ou fiscale. Et la responsabilité ne se limite pas aux engagements financiers: le reste de la société peut être responsable de tout acte commis par un autre partenaire, les exposant ainsi à des poursuites. Enfin, bien qu'il puisse y avoir certains avantages fiscaux dans une société de personnes par rapport à une entreprise individuelle, ils ne sont pas aussi importants qu'ils peuvent l'être avec une entreprise bien organisée et constituée en société. Plus d'informations sur le partenariat


Structures d'entreprise incorporées

 

Joint Venture

 

Une coentreprise est une entité juridique formée entre deux ou plusieurs parties
entreprendre ensemble une activité économique. Les parties conviennent de créer un
nouvelle entité en apportant à la fois des capitaux propres, puis ils partagent
revenus, dépenses et contrôle de l'entreprise. L'entreprise peut être
pour un seul projet spécifique ou une relation commerciale continue
comme la coentreprise Sony Ericsson. Ceci est en contraste avec un
alliance stratégique, qui n'implique aucune prise de participation des participants,
et est un arrangement beaucoup moins rigide. Plus d'informations sur la coentreprise

 

Partenariat limite

 

Une société en commandite (LP) comprend un ou plusieurs commandités et un ou plusieurs commanditaires afin de former une entité juridique distincte. Tout comme une société en nom collectif, à l'exception du statut distinct et limité des associés commanditaires. La principale préoccupation est généralement la protection contre la responsabilité et la capacité de distribuer des fonds entre de nombreux actionnaires (sous forme de dividendes) qui, autrement, ne seraient pas possibles dans une société standard. Les commandités sont responsables des opérations quotidiennes de la société et sont personnellement responsables de ses obligations et de ses dettes. Pour assumer la responsabilité, une société ou une société à responsabilité limitée est le plus souvent utilisée dans le poste d'associé commandité d'une société en commandite. Les commanditaires investissent des capitaux dans l'entreprise et partagent les bénéfices, mais ne participent pas à l'exploitation quotidienne de l'entreprise. Leur responsabilité, en cas de poursuite de la société, est limitée proportionnellement au montant du capital investi.
Plus d'informations sur les sociétés en commandite

 

Société à responsabilité limitée

 

Une société à responsabilité limitée, ou «LLC» est une structure d'organisation commerciale qui permet certains traitements fiscaux favorables, ainsi que la protection de la responsabilité personnelle, pour les «membres» concernés. Il est important de noter que la structure et le statut spécifiques peuvent varier d'un État à l'autre, il est donc crucial de prendre en compte les lois de l'État dans lequel la LLC sera formée.

Une LLC en tant que modèle de structure d'entreprise permet à plusieurs propriétaires, ou «membres» et un «membre directeur», de bénéficier d'une responsabilité limitée. Le membre directeur est généralement le chef de file de l'organisation et est responsable de sa gestion. Les profits ou les pertes de l'organisation commerciale sont directement imputés aux déclarations de revenus des membres.
Plus d'informations sur la société à responsabilité limitée

 

C Corporation

 

Une société traditionnelle (ou société «C») est une structure commerciale constituée en société qui crée une nouvelle entité juridique distincte de son (ses) propriétaire (s). En tant qu'entité juridique distincte, une société C peut exercer des activités, avoir ses propres comptes bancaires, contracter des engagements juridiques, établir sa propre identité de crédit et même acquérir des biens et des actifs. L'un des principaux avantages d'être une entité distincte est que les propriétaires de la société, appelés «actionnaires», bénéficient d'une protection à responsabilité limitée. Cela signifie que leurs biens personnels sont à l'abri de toute responsabilité encourue par la société et qu'ils ne sont pas personnellement responsables des responsabilités légales résultant de tout litige contre la société. L'ampleur de leurs pertes est limitée au montant de leur investissement dans la société. Ce type de protection des actifs et de responsabilité limitée peut être extrêmement avantageux pour le propriétaire unique qui cherche peut-être à attirer des investisseurs potentiels et qui cherche peut-être à atténuer son propre risque personnel. En outre, il existe des incitations fiscales et des avantages sociaux qui font d'une société une formation d'entreprise idéale pour l'homme d'affaires qui cherche à franchir la prochaine étape en matière de protection des actifs et de responsabilité limitée. Il y a d'autres choses à considérer lors de la formation d'une société, comme le respect des règles, également connues sous le nom de formalités d'entreprise, entre autres détails réglementaires. Veuillez cliquer sur le lien pour plus d'informations.
Plus d'informations sur la société

 

S corporation

 

Une S Corporation est une structure d'entreprise incorporée qui est formée de manière à se conformer au sous-chapitre S de l'Internal Revenue Code. Limitée à 100 actionnaires dans la plupart des États, la S Corporation prévoit la responsabilité limitée d'une société standard et la couple avec l'imposition pass-through d'une société de personnes. Cela signifie que les actionnaires évitent les écueils de la double imposition, où le revenu est d'abord imposé au niveau de l'entreprise, puis à nouveau au niveau individuel, tout en assurant en même temps la protection à responsabilité limitée d'une société. Une société existante peut demander le statut S avant deux mois et 16 jours après la fin de son exercice. Il existe d'autres conditions d'éligibilité qui doivent être remplies, veuillez donc suivre le lien pour une explication plus complète.
Plus d'informations sur S Corporation

 

Corporation professionnelle

 

Une corporation professionnelle est une structure d'entreprise constituée par des individus ou des groupes d'individus qui seraient autrement exclus de l'admissibilité à la création d'entreprise. Ces professionnels comprennent des médecins, des avocats, des comptables, des ingénieurs, etc., pensant que la liste variera en petits détails état par état. Le groupe doit être organisé dans le but de fournir des services professionnels et doit être composé de professionnels autorisés à exercer leur profession particulière. Les sociétés professionnelles offrent bon nombre des mêmes protections de responsabilité et avantages fiscaux que les sociétés traditionnelles.
Plus d'informations sur la société professionnelle

 

Société à but non lucratif

 

Une société à but non lucratif est une entité constituée en personne morale conçue pour exécuter des activités et conclure des transactions sans l'intention traditionnelle de générer des bénéfices. Une société sans but lucratif fournit bon nombre des mêmes protections contre les responsabilités envers ses actionnaires qu'une société traditionnelle fournit. Contrairement à son titre, une société à but non lucratif peut en fait générer des bénéfices, mais cela ne doit pas être son intention première, et tous les bénéfices doivent être utilisés dans la poursuite des objectifs non commerciaux de la société à but non lucratif. Il n'y a pas de distributions de capital ni de dividendes versés aux actionnaires d'une société sans but lucratif.
Plus d'informations sur les organismes à but non lucratif

Dernière mise à jour le 25 mars 2018

Consultations

FREE Consultations on starting a new business, growing a business and protecting personal assets

Call: 1-888-444-4812

Your information will only be used to contact you regarding your consultation. It will not be sold

Business Types

Unincorporated Business Structures


Sole Proprietorship

A Sole Proprietorship describes any type of business owned by one individual, and is among the most basic of business structures. The Sole Proprietorship can be any size, from a simple corner market, to a large wharehouse. Their inherent simplicity makes them the easiest business to get off the ground, but this simplicity of structure also leaves the owner of the sole proprietorship vulnerable to direct liability. Even with a separate name (as is the case with a “dba” or “doing business as”), because there is no “separate legal entity” status for the business, the owner is completely responsible for its debt and tax liability, and this means that all of his business and personal assets would be in jeopardy in the event of a financial, tax, or legal liability or litigation that resulted in an unfavorable outcome. This loss can arise from a business or a personal dispute.
More Sole Proprietorship Information


Partnership

A Partnership describes any business or enterprising venture where there is more than one owner involved. The partners in a partnership can be individuals, corporations, or trusts, and the ownership is shared among the partners; this includes all income as well as all debt and liability. While a partnership can facilitate the launching of a business or venture because assets are pooled in the interest of the business, the downside of a partnership has many hidden dangers. Chief among these dangers is that of unlimited, direct liability for all of the partners. Because they are direct owners of the business, the partners are also directly liable for any debts incurred, any losses experienced, or any tax or financial liabilities that arise from the operation of the partnership. Further, the partners face risk even from themselves, with the ability of any of the partners to engage the business in financial obligations that may not be beneficial to the business, or that result in financial or tax liability. And the liability is not limited to financial commitments: the rest of the partnership can be liable for any actions committed by another partner, leaving them exposed to lawsuits. Finally, although there can be some tax advantages in a partnership over a sole proprietorship, they are not as significant as they can be with a properly organized, incorporated business. More Partnership Information


Incorporated Business Structures


Joint Venture

A Joint Venture is a legal entity formed between two or more parties
to undertake economic activity together. The parties agree to create a
new entity by both contributing equity, and they then share in the
revenues, expenses, and control of the enterprise. The venture can be
for one specific project only, or a continuing business relationship
such as the Sony Ericsson joint venture. This is in contrast to a
strategic alliance, which involves no equity stake by the participants,
and is a much less rigid arrangement. More Joint Venture Information


Limited Partnership

A limited partnership (LP) is comprised of one or more general partners and one or more limited partners in order to form a separate, legal entity. Very much like a General Partnership, save for the separate, limited status of the limited partners. The driving concern is usually protection from liability and the ability to distribute funds among many shareholders (in the form of dividends) that would otherwise not be possible under a standard corporation. The general partners are responsible for the daily operations of the company, and are personally liable for its obligations and debts. To absorb the liability, a corporation or a limited liability company is most often used in the general partner position of a Limited Partnership. The limited partners invest capital in the company and share in the profits, but take no part in the daily operation of the business. Their liability, should the company be sued, is limited in proportion to the amount of capital that they invest.
More Limited Partnership Information


Limited Liability Company

A limited liability company, or “LLC” is a business organization structure that allows for certain favorable tax treatments, as well as personal liability protection, for the “members” involved. It is important to note that the specific structure and status can vary from state to state so complete consideration of the state’s laws in which the LLC will be formed is crucial.

An LLC as a business structure model allows for multiple owners, or “Members,” and a “Managing Member,” to enjoy limited liability. The Managing Member is typically the figure head of the organization and is responsible for it’s management. The profits or losses of the business organization pass directly through to the member’s personal income tax returns.
More Limited Liability Company Information


C Corporation

A traditional Corporation (or “C” Corporation) is an incorporated business structure that creates a new, separate, legal entity that is distinct from its owner(s). As a separate, legal entity, a C Corporation can engage in business, have its own bank accounts, enter into legal commitments, establish its own credit identity, and even acquire property and assets. One of the chief advantages of being a separate entity is that the owners of the Corporation, known as “Shareholders,” enjoy limited liability protection. This means that their personal assets are shielded from any liability incurred by the corporation, and that they are not personally liable for any legal liabilities resulting from any litigation against the corporation. The extent of their losses is limited to the amount of their investment in the corporation. This type of asset protection and limited liability can be extremely advantageous to the sole proprietor who may be seeking to lure potential investors, and who may be seeking to mitigate his own personal risk. In addition, there are tax and fringe benefits enticements that make a Corporation an ideal business formation for the business person looking to take the next step in asset protection and limited liability. There are other things to consider when forming a Corporation, such as adherence to the rules, otherwise known as the Corporate Formalities, among other regulatory details. Please click on the link for more information.
More Corporation Information


S Corporation

An S Corporation is an incorporated business structure that is formed in such a way as to comply with sub-chapter S of the Internal Revenue Code. Limited to 100 shareholders in most states, the S Corporation provides for the limited liability of a standard Corporation, and couples it with the pass-through taxation of a partnership. This means that the shareholders avoid the pitfalls of double-taxation, where income is first taxed a the company level, then again at the individual level, while at the same time providing for the limited liability protection of a Corporation. An existing Corporation can apply for S status before two months and 16 days after the end of it’s fiscal year. There are other eligibility requirements that must be met, so please follow the link for a more comprehensive explanation.
More S Corporation Information


Professional Corporation

A Professional Corporation is an incorporated business structure formed by individuals or groups of individuals that would other wise be exclude from corporate formation eligibility. These professionals include doctors, lawyers, accountants, engineers, etc., thought the list will vary in small detail state by state. The group must be organized with the intent of providing professional services, and must consist of professionals licensed to practice their particular profession. Professional Corporations provide for many of the same liability shields and tax benefits that traditional Corporations do.
More Professional Corporation Information


Non-Profit Corporation

A Nonprofit Corporation is an incorporated entity designed to perform activities and enter transactions without the traditional intent of generating profits. A Non-Profit Corporation provides for many of the same shields from liabilities to its shareholders that a traditional Corporation provides. Contrary to its title, a Non-Profit Corporation can in fact generate profits, but that must not be its primary intent, and all profits must be used in furtherance of the nojn-business goals of the Non-Profit Corporation. There are no capital distributions or dividends paid to shareholders in a Non-Profit Corporation.
More Nonprofit Information