شركة محترفة

خدمات بدء الأعمال التجارية وحماية الأصول الشخصية.

الحصول على إنكوربوريتد

شركة محترفة

يمكن لمجموعات من بعض المهنيين أن يشكلوا شركات تعرف باسم الشركات المهنية أو شركات الخدمات المهنية ("PC"). تختلف قائمة المهنيين المشمولين بحالة الشركات المهنية من ولاية إلى أخرى ؛ رغم أنه يغطي عادة المحاسبين والمهندسين والأطباء وغيرهم من المتخصصين في الرعاية الصحية والمحامين وعلماء النفس والأخصائيين الاجتماعيين والأطباء البيطريين. عادة ، يجب تنظيم هؤلاء المهنيين لغرض وحيد هو تقديم خدمة احترافية (على سبيل المثال ، يجب أن تتألف شركة المحاماة من محامين مرخصين).

في بعض الدول ، يكون هذا الخيار هو التأسيس الوحيد المتاح لبعض المهنيين ، بينما في حالات أخرى ، يتم منحهم خيار إما أن يكونوا شركة مهنية أو شركة S أو C.

يمكن للشركات المهنية حماية أصحابها من المسؤولية. في حين أنه لا يمكن أن يحمي المحترف من مسؤوليته عن سوء التصرف ، فإنه يمكن أن يحمي من المسؤولية من إهمال زميل.

المؤسسة المهنية أو المؤسسة التقليدية؟

يشيع استخدامها من قِبل الأطباء وأطباء الأسنان والمحامين وتم تشكيلها وفقًا لقوانين الولاية الخاصة التي تحدد على وجه التحديد أنواع المهنيين المطلوب دمجهم بموجب هذه الحالة ، لا يمكن للعديد من المهنيين التأسيس إلا كشركة مهنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الفوائد المتعلقة بحماية الأصول وضد المسؤولية هي نفسها إلى حد كبير كما هي مع شركة تقليدية.

تاريخياً ، كانت الدوافع الأساسية لاختيار شركة مهنية على ملكية أو شراكة هي المزايا الضريبية والحد من المسؤولية الشخصية. مع التغييرات الحديثة نسبيًا في قوانين ضريبة الدخل الفيدرالية ، فقد تقلص العديد من المزايا الضريبية للكمبيوتر الشخصي ، إن لم يكن معظمها. على سبيل المثال ، تبدأ في 1988 ، ثانية. 11 (b) (2) ترفض معدلات الضريبة المتدرجة على أجهزة الكمبيوتر ، مما يؤدي إلى معدل ضريبي ثابت يبلغ 34٪. نظرًا لأنه لا يمكن حاليًا أن يتجاوز معدل الضريبة لأي فرد 33٪ ، يصبح الكمبيوتر الشخصي غير جذاب من منظور ضريبي صارم.

من منظور غير ضريبي ، تظل مسألة الحد من المسؤولية وحماية الأصول الشخصية تهم المهنيين ، لا سيما في ضوء المبالغ الهائلة من دعاوى قانون المسؤولية المهنية التي يبدو أنها كثيرة في هذه الأيام.

سنت العديد من الولايات قوانين الكمبيوتر الشخصي التي ستسمح للمهنيين المرخصين بالاستفادة من المزايا الضريبية لممارسة العمل كشركة. ومع ذلك ، تستمر الدول في هذه الفئة في جعل المساهمين مسؤولين بصورة مشتركة وفردية عن جميع الأفعال والإغفالات التي يرتكبها موظفو الكمبيوتر. وبالتالي ، من وجهة نظر المسؤولية ، لا يوجد فرق بين الشركات المهنية والشراكات في هذه الدول. ما يلي قانون ولاية أوريغون ثانية ثانية. 58.185 (2) (c) مثال جيد:

"يجب أن يكون المساهمون مسئولين بالتضامن والتكافل مع جميع المساهمين الآخرين في المؤسسة عن الأفعال المهينة أو غير المشروعة أو سوء تصرف أي مساهم أو من قبل شخص يخضع للإشراف والرقابة المباشرة لأي مساهم."

يوضح هذا النظام الأساسي وجود مسئولية مشتركة ومتعددة لجميع مساهمي أجهزة الكمبيوتر على غرار قواعد الشراكة.

الإشراف والتحكم في المسؤولية

تسمح العديد من الدول بمسؤولية محدودة في حدود التزامات التشغيل والتشغيل العامة الخاصة بجهاز الكمبيوتر وأعمال ومساهمات المساهمين الآخرين. ومع ذلك ، لا تقلل هذه الحالات من المسؤولية الملقاة على المساهم المهني بسبب أفعال الإهمال التي يقوم بها أو أفعال الآخرين الذين يشرف عليهم أو يتحكمون فيه ، بصرف النظر عما إذا كانت الرقابة مهملة. يكفي أن يتحمل المحترف مسؤولية الإشراف على الموظف المهمل. مثال على قانون الكمبيوتر الشخصي لواشنطن (Sec. 18.100.070) مثال:

"يجب أن يظل أي مساهم في شركة مسئولية كاملة وشخصية ومساءلة عن أي إهمال أو أفعال غير مشروعة أو سوء تصرف يرتكبه هو أو من قبل أي شخص تحت إشرافه وسيطرته المباشرة ، أثناء تقديم الخدمات المهنية نيابة عن الشركة."

على الرغم من أن المساهم غير مسؤول شخصياً عن أفعال المساهمين الآخرين ، فإن الكمبيوتر الشخصي نفسه مسؤول بشكل مشترك وفعلي عن تصرفات الموظف بموجب العقيدة القانونية لمدعى عليه الأعلى. في كثير من الأحيان يمكن أن يترجم هذا إلى مسؤولية مباشرة للمساهمين أو الشركة المهنية بناءً على سلوك موظف "مفوض". ومن الأمثلة الجيدة أن تكون ممرضة تحت الإشراف المباشر للطبيب الذي يرتكب أو يتهم بارتكاب فعل إهمال والدعوى التي تلت ذلك والتي من شأنها تسمية كل من الممرضة وطبيبها المشرف عليه هو أو هي شركة مهنية.

التأمين على المسؤولية المهنية أمر لا بد منه

يعد الحفاظ على سياسات مظلة العمل العادية ، بما في ذلك التأمين القوي على المسؤولية المهنية ، بمثابة أفضل الممارسات السليمة. وبصرف النظر عن الفائدة الواضحة للتعويض ضد دعاوى المسؤولية المهنية ، فإن العديد من الدول تنظر بشكل إيجابي إلى الحفاظ على هذا التأمين. المثال التالي من Colorado (Sec. 12-2- 131) هو مثال على ذلك:

"يتحمل جميع المساهمين في جهاز الكمبيوتر المسؤولية المشتركة والجزئية عن جميع الأفعال والأخطاء والإغفالات التي يتعرض لها موظفو الشركة إلا خلال الفترات الزمنية التي تحتفظ فيها الشركة بتأمين جيد للمسؤولية المهنية ...".

هذه الفئة من أجهزة الكمبيوتر الشخصية تزيل بوضوح المسؤولية المشتركة والمتعددة على مستوى المساهمين لأن جميع الالتزامات المترتبة يتم نفيها بموجب القانون عند وجود تأمين مناسب ، أو في بعض الولايات ، رأس المال.

شركة قواعد الفئة والسوابق القضائية

قررت أكثر الدول ليبرالية أنه ينبغي حماية المحترفين من جميع المسؤوليات غير المباشرة - أي الأفعال المهملة التي يقوم بها المهنيون الآخرون - المساهمون والموظفون سواء كانوا خاضعين للإشراف أو غير خاضعين للإشراف. بطبيعة الحال ، يبقى المساهمون مسؤولين شخصياً عن أفعال الإهمال الخاصة بهم. تتضمن هذه الدول فقط قواعد المسؤولية للشركات العادية للحصول على هذه النتيجة. على سبيل المثال ، ينص قانون ولاية أريزونا التالي (المادة 10-905) على ما يلي:

"... لن يكون أي مساهم في شركة محترفة يتم تنظيمها بموجب هذا الفصل مسؤولاً بشكل فردي عن ديون أو مطالبات ضد الشركة ما لم ينشأ دين أو مطالبة نتيجة لفعل غير مشروع أو إغفال للمساهم".

يتبع هذا النظام الأساسي القانون العام لمسؤولية الضرر كما هو موضح في شركة Alabama Music Co. ضد Nelson: عندما يرتكب موظف في شركة ضحية إهمال ، يكون ذلك الموظف مسؤولًا بشكل فردي عن الشخص المصاب سواء كان الموظف يتصرف أم لا. ضمن نطاق وظيفته. إذا كان الإهمال قد ارتكبه الموظف في نطاق التوظيف ، فإن الشركة مسؤولة أيضًا - بشكل خطير أو ثانوي بموجب عقيدة المجيب الأعلى. الموظف ، بطبيعة الحال ، لا يزال مسؤولاً في المقام الأول ، ويمكن أن يتمتع بالحق في الحصول على تعويض من الشركة. إذا كان الإهمال قد ارتكب من قبل الموظف خارج نطاق العمل ، فإن الشركة ليست مسؤولة ؛ فقط الموظف مسؤول. أخيرًا ، بموجب القانون العام ، في غياب المشاركة الشخصية ، عادة ما يكون الموظف غير مسؤول عن أفعال الإهمال التي يتعرض لها أفراد الشركات الآخرين.

قد يحدث التدخل القضائي أيضًا في الحالات التالية: العثور على أنفسهم في شراكة مهنية ، قام بعض الشركاء الذين يرغبون في الحد من مسؤوليتهم بدمج أنفسهم بشكل فردي والسماح لأجهزة الكمبيوتر الشخصية بأن تصبح شركاء في الشراكة بدلاً منها. من الناحية النظرية ، يمكن للشريك المؤسس حماية الأصول الشخصية ضد المسؤولية المشتركة والمتعددة عن إهمال جميع الشركاء. هذا صحيح لأن أصول الكمبيوتر الشخصي فقط ، وليس أصول الشريك / المساهم ، متاحة للوفاء بالمطالبات ، لأن الكمبيوتر الشخصي ، وليس الشريك / المساهم ، هو الشريك في الشراكة المهنية. ومع ذلك ، هناك احتمال واضح بأن المحكمة قد تجد أن هذه المناورة غير معقولة أو مخالفة للسياسة العامة ، لأن العملاء الذين يتعاملون مع شراكة مهنية يتوقعون تلبية مطالبات ضد جميع الشركاء بشكل فردي. وبالتالي ، يمكن للمحكمة التي تعالج هذه القضية أن تسمح للعميل الذي يشعر بالضيق من جراء إهمال أحد الشركاء بالوفاء بحكمه ، ليس فقط ضد الأصول الشخصية لجميع الشركاء بما في ذلك أصول الكمبيوتر ، ولكن أيضًا ضد المساهمين في أجهزة الكمبيوتر في الشراكة - على الرغم من أنها تستحق الاهتمام ، يبدو أن هذه حالة نادرة وستتطلب من قاضٍ "ناشط" مهاجمة الشركة المهنية بنجاح.

إجراءات الشركات

إن تشكيل منظمة كمؤسسة مهنية يعني أيضًا أنه ، تمامًا كما هو الحال مع شركة تقليدية ، يجب مراعاة الإجراءات الشكلية للشركات. الإجراءات الشكلية للشركات هي إجراءات رسمية يجب القيام بها من قبل مدير الشركة أو موظفيها أو المساهمين من أجل الحفاظ على الحماية التي يوفرها تشكيل الشركة. هذه هي الإجراءات الأساسية التي تعمل على حماية الأصول الشخصية لمديري الشركة والمسؤولين والمساهمين فيها.

يمكن تفصيل الشكليات على النحو التالي:

  • يجب الاحتفاظ بأموال الشركات منفصلة وبصرف النظر عن الأموال الشخصية. يجب أن يكون لدى كيان الشركة حسابات مصرفية خاصة به (لتشمل التحقق ، وخطوط ائتمان ، وما إلى ذلك). إن عدم إبقاء هذه الأموال منفصلة ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم "الاختلاط المشترك" ، يمكن أن يؤدي إلى مزيد من التدقيق والمسؤولية الخطيرة المحتملة في حالة التدقيق من قبل مصلحة الضرائب وتعريض الأصول الشخصية للخطر. إنه إجراء من أفضل الممارسات ألا يتم خلط الأموال.
  • يجب أن تعقد اجتماعات مجلس الإدارة سنويًا على الأقل ، وعادةً ما تتبع عن كثب اجتماعات المساهمين (والمعروفة أيضًا باسم "الاجتماعات الخاصة"). تنص جميع دول 50 على عقد اجتماع مرة واحدة على الأقل كل عام. وينبغي استخدام هذه الاجتماعات السنوية للموافقة على المعاملات التي تبرمها المؤسسة.

    بدلاً من حضور أي مدير معين ، يجب تقديم موافقة كتابية من قبل المدير المذكور (إما في شكل تنازل في حالة عدم وجود إخطار مناسب ، أو في شكل تصويت بالوكالة مع إعطاء إشعار مناسب) لأي قرارات يتم اتخاذها في هذه الاجتماعات.

    يمكن عقد اجتماعات المساهمين ، والمعروفة أيضًا باسم "الاجتماعات الخاصة" في أي وقت.

    أمين سر المؤسسة مسؤول عن تقديم إشعار قانوني مناسب لهذه الاجتماعات ، وعن الحفاظ على التنازلات الضرورية ، والوكلاء ، والمحاضر ، إلخ.

  • تعد محاضر الشركات أو "ملاحظات اجتماعات مجلس الإدارة أو الاجتماعات الخاصة" ضرورية وهي السجل الرسمي والقانوني لمثل هذه الاجتماعات. يجب الحفاظ على محاضر الشركات بترتيب تاريخ في دفتر محاضر الشركات ، ويمكن أن تكون أحد الأصول القيمة في حماية أصول أعضاء مجلس الإدارة والموظفين والمساهمين. الصيانة المناسبة في الوقت المناسب لهذه المحاضر ضرورية في الدفاع ضد عمليات التدقيق بواسطة مصلحة الضرائب وتغيير مطالبات الأنا.

    يسعى المديرون ومسؤولو الشركات في بعض الأحيان إلى الاستعانة بمستشار قانوني خلال الاجتماعات السنوية ، وتعتبر أي مناقشات خلال هذه الجلسات محادثات مميزة وتحميها العقيدة القانونية لامتياز المحامي - العميل. ومع ذلك ، فإن الدقائق التي تستغرقها هذه المحادثات تُعتبر جزءًا من سجل الشركة ، وبالتالي يجب توخي الحذر من قِبل سكرتير الشركة لتدوين الوقت الذي تحدث فيه هذه الاتصالات من خلال الإشارة إليها في محضر الشركة على أنها "محادثات من قبل أعضاء مجلس الإدارة" والمستشار القانوني المنخرط في محادثة ذات امتياز قانوني في هذه المرحلة "بدلاً من الإشارة إلى المحادثة الحرفية الفعلية.

  • يجب تنفيذ الاتفاقات المكتوبة لجميع المعاملات والمحافظة عليها.

يجب أن تكون جميع المعاملات التي تتضمن عقود إيجار عقارية وقروض (سواء كانت داخلية أو خارجية) واتفاقات التوظيف وخطط المنافع وما إلى ذلك التي يتم إبرامها من قبل أو بالنيابة عن المؤسسة في شكل اتفاقية مكتوبة.

قد يؤدي التوثيق غير المناسب أو غير المناسب للقروض الداخلية من أحد المساهمين إلى المؤسسة ، على سبيل المثال ، إلى إعادة تصنيف مصلحة الضرائب لسداد رأس المال على القرض المذكور كأرباح ، مع الالتزامات الضريبية المتناسبة التي يتحملها المساهم

من الضروري أن يكون التعويض التنفيذي ، وحيازة الأصول الرأسمالية ، وما إلى ذلك ، في الوقت المناسب وموثقة بشكل صحيح في هذه المحاضر. فشل المستندات بشكل صحيح وفي الوقت المناسب يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى التزامات ضريبية من جانب المديرين أو الضباط أو المساهمين نتيجة "لإعادة تصنيف مصلحة الضرائب". على سبيل المثال ، قد يصنف مصلحة الضرائب ما يعتبرونه "تعويضًا تنفيذيًا مفرطًا وغير موثق" "كأرباح من الشركة إلى المستلم ، وبالتالي لا يتم خصمها من قبل الشركة - سيؤدي ذلك إلى زيادة الالتزامات الضريبية غير المسددة.

لا يمكننا التأكيد بدرجة كافية على أن الإخفاق في مراقبة وتنفيذ هذه الإجراءات سيعمل على تقليل وتخفيف أشكال الحماية التي يوفرها تشكيل الشركة ، وسيسمح للكيانات الخارجية (مصلحة الضرائب ، الدائنين ، المدعين / المدعين ، الخصوم الضار المحتملون ، إلخ.) إلى "اختراق حجاب الشركات" والنظر في الأعمال الداخلية وأصول المؤسسة ، إنها الضباط والمديرين والمساهمين.

هل ينبغي علي تنظيم ممارستي المهنية كشركة مهنية؟

كما هو واضح أعلاه ، يوفر دمج كشركة محترفة فائدة كبيرة للمهنيين ولتعزيز ممارساتهم. أولاً وقبل كل شيء ، بالطبع ، هدف تحقيق مسؤولية محدودة ، أو التخفيف من تأثير دعاوى قانون الأحوال الشخصية ، لأنه إذا كانت فكرة الدعوى التي تخترق حجاب الشركات لمهاجمة الأصول الشخصية تبدو مشؤومة ، تخيل ما هي عواقب الشخصية. دعوى دون الاستفادة من الحجاب الشركات سيكون.

Consultations

FREE Consultations on starting a new business, growing a business and protecting personal assets

Call: 1-888-444-4812

What services are you interested in?

Your information will only be used to contact you regarding your consultation. It will not be sold

Professional Corporation

Groups of certain professionals can form corporations known as professional corporations or professional service corporations (“PC”). The list of professionals covered by professional corporation status differs from state to state; though it typically covers accountants, engineers, physicians and other health care professionals, lawyers, psychologists, social workers, and veterinarians. Typically, these professionals must be organized for the sole purpose of providing a professional service (for example, a law corporation must be made up of licensed attorneys).

In certain states, this is the only incorporation option available for certain professionals, whereas in others, they are given the choice of being either a professional corporation or S or C corporation.

Professional corporations can shield owners from liability. While it can’t protect a professional from his/her own malpractice liability, it can protect against liability from negligence of an associate.

The Professional Corporation or Traditional Corporation?

Commonly used by doctors, dentists and attorneys and formed under special state laws that specifically define which types of professionals are required to incorporate under this status, many professionals can only incorporate as a Professional Corporation. However, the benefits with respect to the protection of assets and against liability are very much the same as they are with a traditional corporation.

Historically, the primary motivations for selecting a professional corporation over a proprietorship or a partnership have been the tax benefits and personal liability limitation. With relatively recent changes in federal income tax laws, many, if not most, of the tax benefits of a PC may have diminished. For example, beginning in 1988, Sec. 11(b)(2) denies the graduated tax rates to PCs, resulting in a flat tax rate of 34%. Since any individual’s tax rate currently cannot exceed 33%, a PC becomes unattractive from a strictly tax perspective.

From a non-tax perspective, the issue of limiting liability and the protection of personal assets remains of interest to professionals, especially in light of the massive amounts of professional liability law suits that seem to abound these days.

Many states have enacted PC statutes that will allow licensed professionals to take advantage of the tax benefits of practicing as a corporation. The states in this category, however, continue to make shareholders jointly and severally liable for all acts and omissions committed by the PC’s employees. Consequently, from a liability standpoint, there is no difference between professional corporations and partnerships in these states. The following Oregon PC statute Sec. 58.185(2)(c) is a good example:

“Shareholders shall be jointly and severally liable with all of the other shareholders of the corporation for the negligent or wrongful acts or misconduct of any shareholder, or by a person under the direct supervision and control of any shareholder.”

This statute makes it clear that joint and several liability exists for all PC shareholders similar to partnership rules.

Supervising and Controlling Liability

Many states allow limited liability to the extent of the general operating and business obligations of the PC and the acts and omissions of other shareholders. However, these states do not diminish the liability attaching to the professional-shareholder due to his or her negligent acts or the acts of others he or she supervises or controls, regardless of whether the supervision is negligent. It is sufficient that the professional had the responsibility to supervise the negligent employee. The following Washington PC statute (Sec. 18.100.070) is an example:

“Any shareholder of a corporation shall remain personally and fully liable and accountable for any negligent or wrongful acts or misconduct committed by him or by any person under his direct supervision and control, while rendering professional services on behalf of a corporation.”

While the shareholder is not personally liable for acts by other shareholders, the PC itself is jointly and severally liable for employee acts under the legal doctrine of a respondent superior. Many times this can translate into direct liability for the shareholders or the professional corporation based on the conduct of an “empowered” employee. A good example would be a nurse under the direct supervision of a doctor who commits or is accused of a negligent act and the ensuing lawsuit that would name both the nurse, her supervising doctor, and him or her as a professional corporation.

Professional Liability Insurance is a Must

Maintaining the normal business umbrella policies, including solid Professional Liability insurance, is a sound best-practices stand. Aside from the obvious benefit of indemnifying against professional liability lawsuits, many states look favorably upon the maintenance of such insurance. The following statute from Colorado (Sec. 12-2- 131) is an example:

“All shareholders of the PC shall be jointly and severally liable for all acts, errors, and omissions of the employees of the corporation except during periods of time when the corporation maintains in good standing professional liability insurance….”

This PC category clearly removes joint and several liability at the shareholder level because all vicarious liability is negated by the statute when proper insurance, or in some states, capital, is present.

Corporation Rules Category and Case Law

The most liberal states decided that professional should be shielded from all vicarious liability–namely, the negligent acts of other professionals- shareholders and employees whether supervised or unsupervised. Of course, shareholders remain personally liable for their own negligent acts. These states merely incorporate the liability rules for regular corporations to obtain this result. For example, the following Arizona statute (Sec. 10-905) provides:

“… no shareholder of a professional corporation organized under this chapter is individually liable for the debts of or the claims against the corporation unless the debt or claim arises as a result of a wrongful act or omission of the shareholder.”

This statute follows the common law of tort liability as illustrated in Alabama Music Co. v. Nelson: where a tort of negligence is committed by an employee of a corporation, that employee is liable individually to the injured person whether or not the employee was acting within the scope of his or her employment. If the negligence is committed by the employee within the scope of employment, the corporation is also liable- -vicariously or secondarily under the doctrine of respondent superior. The employee, of course, remains primarily liable, and might enjoy a right to indemnification from the corporation. If the negligence is committed by the employee outside the scope of employment, the corporation is not liable; only the employee is liable. Finally, at common law, absent personal participation, an employee is usually not liable for the acts of negligence of other corporate personnel.

Judicial intervention might also occur in the following circumstances: Finding themselves in a professional partnership, some partners who want to limit their liability have individually incorporated themselves and allowed the PCs to become partners of the partnership in their place. Theoretically, the incorporating partner could shield personal assets against the joint and several liability for all partners’ negligence. This is true because only the PC’s assets, not the partner/shareholder assets, are available to satisfy claims, because the PC, not the partner/shareholder, is the partner in the professional partnership. However, there is a distinct possibility that a court might find this maneuver unconscionable or contrary to public policy, because clients dealing with a professional partnership would expect to satisfy claims against all the partners individually. Consequently, a court addressing the issue could allow the client aggrieved by the negligent act of one of the partners to satisfy his or her judgment not only against the personal assets of all the partners including the PC’s assets, but also against the shareholders of the PCs in the partnership–although worth of consideration, this would seem to be a rare case and would entail an “activist” judge successfully attacking the professional corporation.

Corporate Formalities

The forming of an organization as a professional corporation also means that, just like with a traditional corporation, the corporate formalities must be observed. Corporate formalities are formal actions that must be performed by a corporation’s director, officers, or shareholders in order to maintain the protection afforded by the formation of the corporation. These are essential procedures that serve to protect the personal assets of a Corporation’s directors, officers, and shareholders.

The Formalities can be itemized as follows:

  • Corporate Funds must be maintained separate and apart from Personal Funds.

    The corporate entity should have it’s own banking accounts (to include checking, lines of credit, etc.). Not keeping these funds separate, also known as “co-mingling,” can lead to increased scrutiny and potentially serious liability in the event of audit by the IRS and the endangerment of personal assets. It is a best practices procedure not to co-mingle funds.

  • Meetings of the Board of Directors’ must be held at least annually, usually following closely behind Shareholder meetings (also known as “Special Meetings”). All 50 states mandate a meeting being held at least once a year.

    These annual meetings should be used to approve transactions entered into by the Corporation.

    In lieu of attendance by any given Director, written consent must be provided by said Director (either in the form of a waiver in the absence of proper notice, or in the form of a proxy vote given proper notice) for any decisions made at these meetings.

    Meetings of the Shareholders, also known as “Special Meetings” can be held at any time.

    The Corporation’s Secretary is responsible for giving proper legal notice of these meetings, and for maintaining the necessary waivers, proxies, minutes, etc.

  • Corporate Minutes, or “notes of the meetings of the Board of Director’s or Special Meetings” are essential and are the official, legal record of such meetings.

    The Corporate Minutes are to be maintained in date order in the Corporate Minute Book, and can be a valuable asset in the protection of the Corporation’s directors’, officers’ and shareholders’ assets. Proper, timely maintenance of these minutes is essential in defending against audits by IRS and alter ego claims.

    Directors and Corporate Officers will at times seek legal counsel during annual meetings, and any discussions during these sessions are considered privileged conversations and protected by the legal doctrine of Attorney-Client Privilege. However, minutes taken of these conversations are considered part of the Corporate record and hence care must be taken, by the Corporate Secretary, to note when these communications occur by citing them in the Corporate Minutes as “Conversations by the members of the board of directors and legal counsel engaged in legally-privileged conversation at this point” instead of noting the actual conversation verbatim.

  • Written Agreements for all transactions should be executed and maintained.

All transactions that involve real estate leases, loans (whether internal or external), employment agreements, benefit plans, etc. that are entered into by or on behalf of the Corporation must be in written agreement form.

Improper or untimely documentation of internal loans from a Shareholder to the Corporation, for example, may lead to IRS re-classification of repayment of the principal on said loan as a dividend, with the commensurate tax liabilities incurred by the Shareholder

It is imperative that executive compensation, capital asset acquisitions, etc. be timely and properly documented in these minutes. Failure t properly and timely documents these can potentially lead to tax liabilities on the part of the Directors, Officers, or Shareholders as a result of IRS “reclassification.” For example, the IRS may classify what they deem as “excessive, undocumented executive compensation” as a dividend by the corporation to the recipient, and hence not tax deductible by the corporation–this will lead to increased, unpaid tax liabilities.

We cannot stress highly enough that failure to observe and implement these formalities will serve to diminish and mitigate the protections offered by the formation of the Corporation and will allow outside entities (the IRS, creditors, claimants/plaintiffs, potential adverse litigants, etc.) to “pierce the corporate veil” and peer into the inner workings and assets of the Corporation, it’s Officers, Directors and Shareholders.

Should I Organize My Professional Practice as a Professional Corporation?

As is evident above, incorporating as a Professional Corporation provides for a substantial benefit to professionals and for the furtherance of their practice. First and foremost, of course, is the goal of achieving limited liability, or mitigating the impact of personal law suits, for if the idea of a lawsuit penetrating through the corporate veil to attack personal assets seems ominous, imagine what the consequences of a personal suit without the benefit of the corporate veil would be.