S公司

创业和个人资产保护服务。

获得公司

S公司

S公司是一种商业结构形式,因此它的结构使其符合并且属于IRS税收法典子章节S的范围。在许多方面,它非常像传统公司,但具有某些类似于伙伴关系的特征,可以使某些类型的商业组织受益。 被视为S章公司的主要优势之一是传递税收。 当股东在个人层面(如合伙企业)征税时,而非首先在公司层面征税,然后再在个人层面征税,则存在转嫁税。 在许多情况下,这为股东提供了两全其美的优势 - 简单合伙企业的转嫁税收优惠,以及公司提供的有限责任和资产保护。

税收优惠

标准(或“C”)公司对其作为公司的收益征税,然后分配给个人股东的任何股息再次按个别税率征税(约为联邦税的15%)。 这被称为双重征税危险,是S公司存在的主要原因之一。

另一方面,S公司不在公司层面征税。 相反,它是根据个人股东边际汇率对股东的分配征税。 要记住的一件事是,无论是否向股东实际分配,都会发生这种税收。 这意味着收入只征税一次,作为分配给股东。

这种传递税收方法既可以是福利也可以是滋扰。 例如,我们假设有一家名为Wallaby,Inc。的虚构公司。我们会说有三个合伙人,John,Jack和Jacob,John拥有50%,Jack拥有25%,Jacob拥有剩余的25%。 Wallaby,Inc。去年的净收入为10百万美元。 在纳税时间,约翰将不得不申请5百万美元,Jack $ 2.5百万,以及Jacob剩余的$ 2.5百万。 如果作为大股东的约翰决定不分配净收入利润,约翰,杰克和雅各布仍将对收益征税,就好像以这种方式进行分配一样,即使三者中没有一个收到实际现金分配。 这种情况可以通过多数伙伴(或共谋的合作伙伴)所谓的“挤压游戏”来操纵,以试图挤出少数或不受欢迎的伴侣。

在传统公司中,虽然有初始公司税,但除非进行实际分配,否则个人股东级别不征收股息税。

S公司的另一个限制是股东的数量仅限于100,如果只有一个股东,则美国国税局无视S章身份并将公司视为标准公司的风险一直存在。用于税收目的。 如果存在任何偏离公司手续的情况,则更有可能出现这种情况。

S公司手续

组建S公司也意味着,与传统公司一样,必须遵守公司手续。 公司手续是公司董事,高级职员或股东必须履行的行为,以维持公司组建所提供的保护。 这些是用于保护公司董事,高级职员和股东的个人资产的基本程序。

手续可归纳如下:

  • 公司资金必须与个人基金分开维护。
  • 必须有董事会年会。
  • 必须存在公司会议纪要和指派的人员来照顾和关心会议记录。
  • 所有公司业务,合同和战略收购必须采用书面形式。

有关公司手续的更深入的讨论和描述可以在我们的包含a的部分找到 公司手续清单。 此外,值得一提的是,遵守公司手续是任何公司成功运作的必要条件。 这些手续有助于保护公司地位所提供的有限责任和税收优惠。

提交分章S治疗

实现S公司地位所需的步骤并不十分复杂,但需要对其进行严格关注,以确保其地位经得起审查并享受到地位的好处。

首先,现有公司的股东或新公司的所有者必须执行IRS表格2553以及任何当地文件,如果公司的居住州承认S公司(一些州将所有公司视为同样,但其他人允许S指定并遵循类似的税收策略)。 此次选举的执行和提交必须在公司纳税年度结束后的第三个月的16日之前进行,以便在当前纳税年度内将公司视为S状态。 在上述2.5月份期间,公司必须符合S公司的资格,并且所有股东必须同意该状态,无论他们是否在状态变更时拥有股票。

放弃选举地位

S公司的地位可以通过提交适当的终止声明自愿放弃。 这种类型的撤销地位只能在大多数股东的批准和同意下进行。 完整的流程和所有必要的支持信息要求可以在IRS法规部分1.1362-6(a)(3)和IRS表格1120S,S公司的美国所得税申报表中找到。

非法自愿撤销或终止身份可以在监管机构(如美国国税局或国家特许经营税委员会)宣布违反资格要求或更加不利的情况下发生,如果不遵守提出质疑的公司手续公司的独立法人实体地位。

谁应该组建S公司?

寻求享受有限责任和转嫁税的双重利益的合伙企业,投资者团体甚至现有的公司股东应认真考虑S公司的地位,前提是可以满足并维持资格规则。 从这种形式的组织中获得许多好处,尽管这是一个应该在S章公司的知情专家的协助下做出的决定。

S公司(因其组织符合美国国税局要求根据国内税收法第S小节征税的组织而命名)是为了将其作为一个通行证而进行了S级税收选举的公司。 - 用于税收目的的实体,就像合伙企业的收入或损失“通过”个人股东的个人纳税申报表(与其在公司的投资或所有权成正比),同时仍然提供相同的资产保护和作为传统公司的责任。 股东将根据S公司的收入缴纳个人所得税,无论收入是否实际分配,但他们将避免传统公司(或“C”公司)固有的“双重征税”。

传统公司与S公司的主要区别

由于其“通过”税收结构,S公司不在公司层面纳税,因此避免了“双重征税”的陷阱(在标准或传统公司中,业务收入首先在公司层面征税)然后,剩余收入分配给个人股东再次作为个人“收入”征税,这些个人“收入”降临C公司。

与以15.00%的联邦税率征税的C公司股息不同,S公司股息(或更恰当地标题为“分配”)按股东的边际税率征税。 但是,公司股息需要缴纳上述双重征税。 收入在作为股息分配之前首先在公司层面征税,然后在发给个人股东时作为收入纳税。

例如,Cogs Inc成立为S公司,净收入为20百万美元,由Jack拥有51%,Tom拥有49%。 在Jack的个人纳税申报表中,他将报告收入为10.2百万美元,Tom将报告$ 9.8百万。 如果杰克(作为多数股东)决定不分配净收入利润,杰克和汤姆仍将对收益征税,就像以这种方式进行分配一样,即使没有收到任何现金分配。 这是企业“挤压”的一个例子,可以用来试图强迫少数伙伴。

S公司的业务目标

拥有S公司身份为公司提供了一些实质性的好处。 当然,首要的目标是实现有限责任,或减轻个人诉讼或个人股东对股东产生的其他形式债务的影响,并防止它们影响整个公司,或其余的股东作为个人。 这种资产保护利益适用于传统公司和S公司。 更具体的选择S公司是传递税收优惠。 虽然公司可以拥有的股东数量有限制,以满足美国国税局对S公司地位的要求,但大多数符合规模门槛的公司(在大多数情况下,不超过75到100股东)都选择作为S公司征税,因为它允许个人股东获得更大的业务收入分配。 公司可以直接将收入转嫁给股东,避免上市公司股息所固有的双重征税,同时仍享有公司结构的优势。

选择S公司的地位

选择S公司身份具有税务责任的含义。 S状态允许股东将公司利润和损失应用于个人所得税申报表。 为了选择S状态,必须首先作为一般C公司合并,然后提交IRS表格2553。 如果您最近注册成立,您的公司可以在纳税年度的任何时间在您注册成立日期的75天内申请S状态。 否则,如果公司是日历年纳税人,则必须在3月15之前采取此行动,以使选举在当前纳税年度生效。 公司可能稍后决定选择S公司的地位,但该决定直到下一年才会生效。

被动收入警示

被动收入是指投资产生的任何收入; 即股票,债券,股权型投资,房地产等。主动收入来自提供的服务,产品销售等。确保您的S公司的被动收入不超过公司总收入的25%是很重要的。连续三年; 否则你的公司将有被美国国税局撤销其S状态的危险。 如果您的业务预计会有大量的被动收入,那么更好的选择可能是有限责任公司。

符合S公司资格

为了符合S公司资格,必须采取一些必要措施。 1。 公司必须成为一个普通的营利性C级公司。 2。 确保您的公司只发行了一类股票。 3。 所有股东都是美国公民或永久居民。 4。 只有75股东可以。 5。 贵公司的被动收入水平未超过毛收入限额的25%。 6。 如果您的公司的税收年终日期不是12月31,您必须向IRS申请许可。 如果您的公司满足以上所有要求,您可以向IRS提交2553表格以选择S状态。

S Corporation vs. LLC

有限责任公司可以拥有(拥有“成员”)公司,其他有限责任公司,合伙企业,信托和非美国公民,非居民外国人。 另一方面,S公司只能由美国公民或永久居民外国人拥有。 有限责任公司可以提供不同级别/类别的会员资格,而S公司可能只提供一类股票。 有限责任公司可以拥有任意数量的成员,但S公司最多只能有75到100的股东(取决于其所在州的规则)。 当S公司的股东在个人(非商业)诉讼中被起诉时,股票的股份是可以被扣押的资产。 当LLC的成员在个人(非商业)诉讼中被起诉时,有一些规定可以保护会员资格不被个人所有。

S公司应考虑的法律问题

可以肯定的是,在将公司视为S公司之前,需要满足某些监管步骤和要求。 首先,现有公司(或新公司的发起人)的股东必须在IRN表格2553(以及公司成立所在州的相应表格)之前选举成为S公司。如果选举在当前纳税年度生效,则在C公司纳税年度结束后的第三个月。 在16 2 / 1月份期间,C公司必须符合合格公司的资格,并且在2 2 / 1个月期间的所有股东必须同意,即使他们在选举时没有股票。 如果选举是在纳税年度第三个月的第2天之后提交的,则选举将在下一个纳税年度生效,所有股东在选举时必须同意。

终止S公司的地位

自愿终止S选举是通过在原选举正确提交的服务中心提交声明而作出的。 撤销只能在股东同意的情况下进行,股东在撤销时,持有公司股票(包括非投票股票)已发行股票(包括非投票股票)数量的一半以上。 必须包含在声明中的特定信息,此信息在法规部分1.1362-6(a)(3)和IRS表格1120S,S公司的美国所得税申报表中列出。

撤销可以指明生效日期,只要它是在撤销提交之日或之后。 如果未指定日期且撤销在纳税年度的第三个月的15日之前提交,则撤销将在当前纳税年度生效。 如果撤销是在纳税年度第三个月的第15天之后提交的,则撤销将在下一个纳税年度生效。

我应该将我的企业组织为S公司吗?

如果您打算让您的公司拥有多个股东(但低于您所在州的限额)并且您可以了解转嫁税的好处,同时了解“税收无关”所涉及的潜在陷阱在分销方面,“并且您符合上述法律要求,那么S公司可以大大提高您的业务盈利能力并吸引合适的投资者。

Consultations

FREE Consultations on starting a new business, growing a business and protecting personal assets

Call: 1-888-444-4812

What services are you interested in?

Your information will only be used to contact you regarding your consultation. It will not be sold

S Corporation

The S corporation is a form of business structure thusly named because it is structured in such a way that it meets, and falls under the purview, of the IRS Revenue Code subchapter S. In many ways, it is very much like a traditional corporation, but with certain partnership-like traits that can benefit certain types of business organizations. One of the primary advantage of being treated as a subchapter S Corporation is that of pass-through taxation. Pass-through taxation exists when the shareholders are taxed at the individual level, like a partnership, rather than first at the company level, then again at the individual level. This gives the shareholders the best of both worlds in many instances–the pass-through taxation benefits of a simple partnership, and the limited liability and asset protection that a corporation affords.

Tax Advantages

A standard (or “C”) corporation is taxed on it’s earnings as a company, then any dividends distributed to individual shareholders are again taxed at the individual rate (about 15% for Federal taxes). This is known as the double-taxation jeopardy and is one of the main reasons for the existence of the S Corporation.

The S Corporation, on the other hand, is not taxed at the company level. Instead, it is taxed based on the distributions to the shareholders at the individual shareholders’ marginal rate. One thing to bear in mind is that this taxation occurs whether or not there is an actual distribution to the shareholders. This means that the income is only taxed once, as a distribution to the share holders.

This pass-through taxation method can be both a boon and a nuisance. For example, let’s take an imaginary company named Wallaby, Inc. We’ll say there are three partners, John, Jack, and Jacob, with John owning 50%, Jack owning 25%, and Jacob the remaining 25%. Wallaby, Inc. earned $10 million last year as net income. At tax time, John will have to claim $5 million, Jack $2.5 million, and Jacob the remaining $2.5 million. If John, as the majority owner, decides not to distribute the net income profit, John, Jack and Jacob will still be liable for taxes on the earnings as if a distribution was made in that manner, even though none of the three received an actual cash distribution. This situation can be manipulated via what is termed a “squeeze play” by a majority partner (or partners in collusion) in an attempt to squeeze out a minority or undesirable partner.

In the traditional corporation, although there is the initial corporate tax, there is no dividend tax at the individual shareholder level unless an actual distribution is made.

Another limitation to the S Corporation is the fact that the number of shareholders is limited to 100, and if there is only one shareholder, there is the ever-present danger that the IRS disregards the subchapter S status and treats the company as a standard corporation for tax purposes. This is more likely the case when there is any sort of deviation from the corporate formalities.

S Corporation Formalities

The forming of an organization as an S corporation also means that, just like with a traditional corporation, the corporate formalities must be observed. Corporate formalities are the actions that must be performed by a corporation’s director, officers, or shareholders in order to maintain the protection afforded by the formation of the corporation. These are essential procedures that serve to protect the personal assets of a Corporation’s directors, officers, and shareholders.

The Formalities can be summarized as follows:

  • Corporate Funds must be maintained separate and apart from Personal Funds.
  • There must be Annual Meetings of the Board of Directors.
  • There must exist Corporate Minutes and an officer assigned to take and care for the minutes.
  • All Corporate engagements, contracts, and strategic acquisitions must be in Written Form.

Much more in-depth discussion and descriptions of the corporate formalities can be found in our section on Corporation Operating Formalities, but it bears mentioning that the adherence to the corporate formalities is a must for the successful operation of any corporation. These formalities serve to preserve the limited liability and tax benefits afforded by the corporate status.

Filing for Subchapter S Treatment

The steps necessary to achieve S corporation status are not terribly complicated, but need strict attention paid to them to ensure that the status withstands scrutiny and the benefits of the status are enjoyed.

To start, the shareholder(s) of an existing corporation, or the owner of a new corporation, must execute IRS Form 2553, along with any local documentation if the state of residence for the corporation recognizes S corporations (some states treat all corporations the same, and yet others allow for the S designation and follow similar taxation strategies). The execution and filing of this election must occur before the 16th day of the third month following the close of the corporation tax year in order for the corporation to be considered for S status during the current tax year. The corporation must meet the S Corporation qualifications during the aforementioned 2.5 months, and all shareholders must agree to the status, irrespective of whether or not they own stock at the time of the change in status.

Relinquishing S Election Status

S Corporation status can be relinquished voluntarily via the filing of the appropriate statement of termination. This type of revocation of status may only be made with the approval and consent of the majority shareholders. The complete process, and all necessary supporting information requirements, can be found in the IRS Regulations section 1.1362-6(a)(3) and in Instructions for IRS Form 1120S, U.S. Income Tax Return for an S Corporation.

Involuntary revocation or termination of status can occur any time the Regulatory agencies, such as the IRS or the State Franchise Tax Board, proclaim a violation of the eligibility requirements, or to much greater detriment, any failure to observe the corporate formalities that brings to question the separate legal entity status of the corporation.

Who Should Organize as an S Corporation?

Partnerships, groups of investors, or even existing corporate shareholders looking for the dual benefits of enjoying limited liability and pass-through taxation should seriously consider the S Corporation status, provided that the rules for eligibility can be met and sustained. There are many benefits to be garnered from this form of organization, though this is a decision that should be made with the assistance of an informed expert in subchapter S Corporations.

An S Corporation (named as such because of it’s organization meeting the IRS requirements to be taxed under Subchapter S of the Internal Revenue Code) is a corporation for which the subchapter S taxation election has been made in order for it to be treated as a pass-through entity for tax purposes, much like a partnership whose income or losses “pass through” to the individual shareholders’ personal tax returns (in direct proportion to their investment or ownership in the company), while still providing the same protections for assets and from liabilities as a traditional corporation. The shareholders will pay personal income taxes based on the S corporation’s income, regardless of whether or not the income is actually distributed, but they will avoid the “double taxation” that is inherent to the traditional corporation (or “C” corporation).

The Major Difference between a traditional Corporation and an S Corporation

Because of its “pass through” taxation structure, the S corporation is not subject to taxes at the corporate level, and hence avoids the pitfalls of “double taxation” (in a standard or traditional corporation, business income is first taxed at the corporate level, then the distribution of the residual income to the individual shareholders is taxed again as personal “income”) that befalls C corporations.

Unlike C corporation dividends which are taxed at the federal rate of 15.00%, S corporation dividends (or more properly titled “Distributions”) are taxed at the shareholder’s marginal tax rate. However, the c corporation dividend is subject to the double-taxation mentioned above. The income is first taxed at the corporate level before it is distributed as a dividend and then taxed as income when issued to the individual shareholders.

For example, Cogs Inc, is formed as an S corporation, makes $20 million in net income and is owned 51% by Jack and 49% by Tom. On Jack’s personal tax return, he will report $10.2 million in income and Tom will report $9.8 million. If Jack (as the majority owner) decides not to distribute the net income profit, both Jack and Tom will still be liable for taxes on the earnings as if a distribution was made in that manner, even though neither received any cash distribution. This is an example of a corporate “squeeze-play” that can be used in an attempt to force out a minority partner.

Business Goals of an S Corporation

Having S corporation status provides for a few substantial benefits for a corporation. First and foremost, of course, is the goal of achieving limited liability, or mitigating the impact of personal law suits, or other forms of debt incurred by individual shareholders, against shareholders, and protecting against them impacting the corporation as a whole, or the rest of the shareholders as individuals. This asset protection benefit is true of both the traditional corporation and the S corporation. More specific to the selection of an S corporation is the pass-through taxation benefit. While there are limitations as to the amount of shareholders that a corporation can have in order to meet the IRS requirements for S corporation status, most corporations that fit the size threshold (in most cases, not more than 75 to 100 shareholders) elect to be taxed as an S corporation because it allows the individual shareholders to earn a larger distribution of the business income. The corporation can pass income directly to shareholders and avoid the double taxation that is inherent with the dividends of public companies, while still enjoying the advantages of the corporate structure.

Electing S Corporation Status

Electing S corporation status has tax liability implications. S status allows shareholders to apply company profits and losses to individual income tax returns. In order to elect S status, one must first incorporate as a general C corporation and then file IRS form 2553. If you have recently incorporated, your corporation may file for S status anytime during the tax year within 75 days of your incorporation date. Otherwise, this action must be taken by March 15 if the corporation is a calendar year taxpayer, in order for the election to take effect for the current tax year. A corporation may later decide to elect S corporation status, but this decision would not take effect until the following year.

Passive Income Caution

Passive income is any income generated by an investment; i.e. stocks, bonds, equity-type investments, real estate, etc. Active income is generated by services rendered, products sold, etc. It is important to make sure that your S corporation’s passive income does not exceed 25% of the corporation’s gross receipts over a consecutive three year period; otherwise your corporation would be in danger of having its S status revoked by the IRS. A better choice if your business is expected to have substantial passive income may be an LLC.

Qualifying for S Corporation Status

In order to qualify for S corporation status a few requisite measures must be met. 1. The corporation must be formed as a general, for-profit C class corporation. 2. Be sure that your corporation has only issued one class of stock. 3. All the shareholders are U.S. Citizens or Permanent Residents. 4. There can be no more than 75 shareholders. 5. Your corporationÕs passive income level does not pass the 25% of gross receipts limit. 6. If your corporation has a tax-year end date other than December 31, you must file for permission from the IRS. If your corporation has met all the above, you may file form 2553 with the IRS to elect S status.

S Corporation vs. LLC

A Limited Liability Company can be owned (have as “members”) corporations, other LLC’s, partnerships, trusts and non-US citizen, non-resident aliens. The S corporation, on the other hand, can only be owned by individual US citizens or permanent resident aliens. An LLC may offer different levels/classes of membership while an S corporation may only offer one class of stock. An LLC may have any number of members but an S corporation is limited to a maximum of 75 to 100 shareholders (depending on the rules of the state in which it is formed). When a shareholder of an S corporation is sued in a personal (not a business) lawsuit, the shares of stock are an asset that may be seized. When a member of an LLC is sued in a personal (not a business) lawsuit, there are provisions to protect the membership stake from being taken from the individual.

Legal Issues to Consider with an S Corporation

To be sure, there are certain regulatory steps and requirements that need to be met before a corporation can be treated as an S corporation. First, the shareholders of an existing corporation (or the originator of a new corporation) must make an election to be an S corporation on IRS Form 2553 (and the corresponding form for the state in which the corporation was incorporated) before the 16th day of the third month following the close of the C corporation tax year if the election is to be effective for the current tax year. The C corporation must qualify as an eligible corporation during those 2 1/2 months and all shareholders during those 2 1/2 months must consent, even if they do not own stock at the time of the election. If the election is filed after the 15th day of the third month of the tax year, the election will be in effect for the next tax year and all shareholders at the time of the election must consent.

Termination of S Corporation Status

Voluntary termination of an S election is made by filing a statement with the Service Center where the original election was properly filed. A revocation may be made only with the consent of shareholders who, at the time the revocation is made, hold more than one-half of the number of issued and outstanding shares of stock (including nonvoting stock) of the corporation. There is specific information that must be included in the statement and this information is outlined in Regulations section 1.1362-6(a)(3) and in Instructions for IRS Form 1120S, U.S. Income Tax Return for an S Corporation.

The revocation may state an effective date as long as it is on or after the date the revocation is filed. If no date is specified and the revocation is filed before the 15th day of the third month of the tax year, the revocation will be effective for the current tax year. If the revocation is filed after the 15th day of the third month of the tax year, the revocation will be effective for the next tax year.

Should I Organize My Enterprise as an S Corporation?

If you intend for your corporation to have more than a few shareholders (but less than the limit in your individual state) and you can appreciate the benefits of pass-through taxation while at the same time understanding the potential pitfalls involved with the “taxation irrespective of distribution,” and you meet the legal requirements outlined above, then the S corporation can go a long way towards making your business profitable and attractive to the right investors.